Recipe: Saucy Pork Chops

I found this recipe online, and it got my interest because the ingredients needed are already in my pantry! I decided to give it a try as I haven’t cooked anything yet that had this ingredient in it: ketchup! We have always used ketchup at home as a dip for fried dishes, but never as an ingredient to make something, so I was excited to do the recipe and see how it comes out.

wp-image-760953725jpg.jpg

The original recipe required the use of a slow cooker, and for 4 hours; I figured that was because their pork chops are bigger and leaner. Since the pork chops here in the Philippines are almost like ham slices (lol), I decided to use a regular pan instead, and it worked, too. I managed to get the meat tender for after an hour and a half of cooking.

Saucy Pork Chops (serves 4)

  • 8 pieces pork chops
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Garlic powder, to taste
  • 2 tbsp butter or canola oil
  • 2 cups ketchup (I used tomato ketchup)
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar
  • Parsley, for garnish
  1. Season pork chops with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Let set for 10 minutes.
  2. Mix ketchup and brown sugar together. Set aside.
  3. Heat butter or oil on a frying pan. Cook the pork chops around 8 minutes each side, or until golden brown.
  4. Pour the ketchup mixture on top of the pork chops. Let simmer, then cover the pan and lower the heat. Allow to cook until your meat is tender.
  5. Transfer to a serving plate and garnish with parsley. Serve with rice.

I was very happy with how the pork chops turned out. They were, indeed, saucy, with just the right mix of sweet and sour notes brought by the tomato ketchup and the brown sugar. I’m also glad my husband and our daughter loved it – in fact, my husband said he would have preferred it if I added more sauce! I just might do that next time. 🙂

This recipe is something worth trying! Let me know what you think in the comments.

Leave a Reply

